19 replies to this topic

#1 hillbear

hillbear

Die Hard

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 133 posts

Posted 30 August 2017 - 08:35 PM

Advice please ! I have been running dual-PC Jplay for about 2 years - first with WS2012 and then Windows 10. No problems with either. Had to replace my Audio-PC recently, configured the new machine exactly the same as the old one and now cannot get connectivity when 'Searching LAN for Audio PC' on Jplay settings panel. Tried all the recommended troubleshooting - turned off firewall on both PCs - tried static IP address on both PCs - edited regedit settings as per troubleshooting guide. Pings and telnet work OK in both directions

Finally, did a total rebuild on both PCs. Fresh install of Win10 and Jplay6.2 - no other software is running on either machine. Tried direct physical connection as well as via switch. Briefly - I could get the Audio PC to locate the Control PC but not the other way round - even this has now stopped working !!

Advice please before I rip out what tiny amount of hair I still have !!!

#2 hillbear

hillbear

Die Hard

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 133 posts

Posted 30 August 2017 - 08:54 PM

Update on above prob - telnet WAS working OK before. Just tried telnet to port 48168 and get connect failed - this is in BOTH directions with firewall at both ends disabled ! Also, tried telnet to other ports - eg 80, and that doesn't work either.

Advice from Jplay guru please !

#3 BernieK

BernieK

Die Hard

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 645 posts
  • LocationMelbourne

Posted 31 August 2017 - 04:08 AM

Hi hillbear,

Queries

1. When you say you turned off the firewall, did you go into Windows Services (on both PCs), disable the Firewall in properties and then stop it there so that it shows up as disabled and not running?

2. In Settings -> Network and Internet is your ethernet shown as being connected (on each PC) when both PCs are running?

Bernie

Control and Audio PCs