10 replies to this topic

#1 Lizard

Lizard

Beginner

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 07 August 2016 - 08:26 AM

Hi,

I'm very new to the world of music over usb to a dac, so it is possible that i am doing something silly here, but no matter what i try i can not get foobar/jplay to output DSD to my Dac.

I have tried following the manual to get it to work and have download and installed the  foo_input_sacd.zip component, but no foo_dsd_asio appears in the drop down list for for output device, also if i try double clicking on preferences > playback > output > asio where jplay is listed under asio drivers nothing happens.

I am currently using the trail version (the manual needs a lot more detail on the control panel by the way :) ) and now that i have finally started to work out how to use it and seen the benefits it can bring, the only thing that is stopping me buying it is the inability to play dsd (i get the message could not start asio in foobar). Flac/wav it plays without issue.

I am using a Roksan k3 Dac (has asio drivers) and windows 10 (avast anti virus). jplay is listed as dsd : asio : jplay in drivers (which i am currently using) so does allow asio to be used for wav/flac, just not for dsd.

Also

Jplay doesnt start automatically with windows, i have to select it first in the start menu, any ideas why? 

• Davidbot likes this

#2 Marcin_gps

Marcin_gps

JPLAY & JCAT Founder

• Administrators
  • 4,305 posts

Posted 07 August 2016 - 10:10 AM

Hi Lizard and welcome, 

If foo_dsd_asio does not appear in foobar then it means it is not installed successfully. Did you follow instructions from this page?  http://wiki.hydrogen...all_a_component

Which settings are missing from the manual? :) 

JPLAY does start automatically as a Windows service. Only JPLAYsettings doesn't start during boot. 

Regards, 
Marcin

JPLAY for iOS: the new reference hi-fi app. 

JCAT: streaming specific products for high-end audio

Join Computer Audio Enthusiasts group on facebook